Music Department The University of New Orleans Home  

Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Music Dept Home
|College of Liberal Arts


Get Social
Our Facebook Page
Our You Tube Channel

Undergrad Degrees
Jazz Studies
Music Education
Music Studies
Minor in Music

Grad Degrees
Jazz Studies

About the Department
Faculty and Staff
Request Information
Financial Aid
Audition Information

Events and Directions
Calendar of Events
Jazz @ the Sandbar
Sunday Matinee Series
Musical Excursions   

Wind Ensemble      
Jazz Combos
Civic Symphony

Departmental Use
Room Schedule
Departmental Forms 
Student Handbooks


Department of Music
2000 Lakeshore Drive
University of New Orleans
New Orleans, LA 70148 Phone:(504) 280-6381
Fax:(504) 280-6098

Office Hours: Monday to Friday 8:30 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.


UNO Music Department - Faculty and Staff

UNO Music’s acclaimed faculty offer hands-on, high-caliber teaching and are dedicated to your education.  All are leaders in their fields, and perform, conduct, tour, and record internationally; they are working musicians routinely nominated for Grammys and other major awards.  Every faculty member is closely involved in their professional communities, from performing and recording to serving on state-wide choral conducting panels to advising national music education policy makers in Washington, D.C. They bring their expertise back to the classroom and the stage.

Music Faculty

Victor Atkins III – Jazz Piano, Theory
Caroline Carson – Choral Ensembles, Conducting
Raymond Gitz – Associate Chair; Piano, Theory
Yotam Haber - Composition
Stephen Masakowski – Jazz Guitar, Theory, Digital Music Production
Irvin Mayfield – Artistic Director, New Orleans Jazz Institute and Professor of Professional Practice
Edward Petersen – Associate Chair; Jazz Saxophone
Brent Rose – Theory, Jazz History, Saxophone
Brian Seeger – Jazz Guitar, Improvisation, Recording & Production
Charles Taylor – Department Chair; Instrumental Ensembles, Conducting
Robin Williams – Piano


Adjunct Faculty
Chris Adkins - Guitar
Leah Chase-Kamata – Jazz Voice
Raquel Cortina – Classical Voice
Megan Dearie – Classical Voice
Roland Guerin
– Jazz Bass
Peter Harris - Jazz Bass
Tyler Holt - Horn
Herman Lebeaux – Jazz Percussion
Hank Mackie – Jazz Guitar
Jason Marsalis – Percussion
Ashlin Parker – Jazz Trumpet
Matt Perrine – Traditional Jazz Ensemble, Tuba, Sousaphone, Bass
David Phy - Trombone
Doug Reneau - Trumpet
Steve Reynolds – Audio Recording
Matthew Rhody – Jazz Violin
Michael Rihner – Composition
Sarah Schettler – Classical Flute
William Schettler – String Bass
Cindy Scott – Jazz Vocal Ensemble
Yuki Tanaka – Classical Violin
Antonio Tanase - Clarinet
Kathleen Westfall - Voice


Music Staff

Bowen, Missy MFA- Operations Manager and Executive Assistant to the Chair 
Fredrickson, Emily - Graduate Assistant, Master in Arts Administration 2014 
Coleman, Chelsea -
Graduate Assistant, Master in Music Performance 2014

Updated October 1, 2013


The University of New Orleans • 2000 Lakeshore Drive, New Orleans, LA 70148
(504) 280-6000 • Toll-Free at (888) 514-4275